Skip to navigation Skip to Content
Join a world-class health system. Find jobs

Childbirth Education Classes

Pregnant woman using a laptop

​Our childbirth education classes are a great way to prepare for labor and birth.

Registration information

In-person classes are offered through Marshfield Medical Center - Marshfield. To register for a class, call 715-387-7011 or attend one of our Pregnancy, Birth and Baby Expos.

Cancellation information

In-person classes may be canceled in the event of inclement weather or due to low class enrollment. Call 715-387-7011 for more information on cancelations.


This free, drop-in expo is for expectant parents, grandparents and siblings. Get information on a variety of topics related to all phases of pregnancy and beyond including:
  • Informational booths and exhibits
  • Hands-on demonstrations
  • Videos and speakers provided
  • Experienced professionals to answer your questions

You will also have the opportunity to learn more about and register for upcoming prenatal classes.

Location: Learning Resource Center, 1st floor, West Building (Hospital)
Expo time: 4:30 to 7 p.m.

Expo dates:
Monday, May 3, 2021
Monday, October 4, 2021
In-person classes are limited to 10 participants plus their support person. Participation is determined on a first come-first serve basis with paid registrations.


Childbirth Education Class
Practice positioning, breathing and relaxation techniques, and tour the Birth Center. You will learn about the birthing process based on the Lamaze theory of childbirth education allowing you to make informed choices for a positive birth experience.

Cost: $45/couple
Location: Learning Resource Center 1st floor, West Building (Hospital)
Instructor: Sue Engle, R.N. or Danica Kanneberg, R.N.
Class time: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Online class equivalent: Understanding Birth

1 day classes:
Sunday, December 13, 2020
Sunday, February 7, 2021
Saturday, March 13, 2021
Sunday, April 25, 2021
Saturday, June 12, 2021
Sunday, July 25, 2021,
Saturday, August 28, 2021
Sunday, October 17, 2021
Saturday, November 20, 2021
Sunday, December 12, 2021



Prenatal Breastfeeding Class
Learn how breastfeeding works. Topics include:
  • Latching on and positioning
  • Knowing when to feed your baby
  • How to know your baby is getting enough milk
  • How to care for your breasts
  • How to make breastfeeding a part of your lifestyle
  • Breastmilk expression and returning to work
Cost: $20/couple
Location: Learning Resource Center 1st floor, West Building (Hospital)
Instructor: Elizabeth Harris R.N., R.N.C.-OB, IBCLC, CPST
Class time: 5:30 to 8 p.m.
Online class equivalent: Understanding Breastfeeding

Class dates:
Monday, December 21, 2020
Thursday, January 14, 2021
Thursday, February 25, 2021
Thursday, April 8, 2021
Thursday, May 20, 2021
Thursday, July 1, 2021
Thursday, August 12, 2021
Thursday, September 23, 2021
Thursday, November 4, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021



Baby Basics Class
This combined class includes the basics of newborn care, as well as essential tips for beginning to breastfeed. Topics include:
  • Newborn characteristics
  • Hospital routines
  • Calming a fussy baby
  • Signs of illness
  • Hands-on demonstrations on diapering, bathing, swaddling and car seat installation
Cost: $20/couple
Location: Learning Resource Center 1st floor, West Building (Hospital)
Instructor: Robin Dietel, R.N.C-OB, LCCE, C.L.S.
Class time: 5:30 to 8 p.m.
Online class equivalent: Understanding Your Newborn

Class dates:
Thursday, December 10, 2020
Sunday, January 10, 2021 - 1-3:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 4, 2021.
Thursday, April 15, 2021
Thursday, May 27, 2021
Thursday, July 8, 2021
Thursday, August 19, 2021
Thursday, September 30, 2021
Thursday, November 11, 2021
Thursday, December 23, 2021

Can’t come to an on-site class? We’ll bring them to you! Marshfield Medical Center is happy to provide online childbirth and parenting preparation classes that you can take conveniently from home or choose to pair with an in-person class or tour.

Our eClasses are perfect for:
  • Parents who need a more flexible schedule
  • Parents on bed rest
  • Parents who prefer online learning
  • Spanish-speaking parents
Trusted education, your way.
  • Learn essential information that’s reviewed and updated regularly
  • No commercials or sponsored content
  • Access information when, where, and how you’d prefer
  • Share information with your partner and support people
  • Learn with videos, quizzes, and extended activities
  • Get organized with tools, planning checklists, and trackers
Learn more about our online courses >
Classes available Cost
Understanding Birth $45
Understanding Breastfeeding $30
Understanding Your Newborn $30

Watch the video below for an inside look at our online classes.